Moving the Region Forward Together


The Region Forward Coalition is a dedicated group of engaged regional leaders working collaboratively on solutions that strengthen the region’s economy and quality of life. Since Region Forward was adopted, the Coalition has established a process for measuring regional progress towards the vision and creating a regional Activity Center Map to identify priority growth areas.

The Coalition’s current work is focused on economic development and creating a Regional Activity Center Investment Plan to guide public and private stakeholders in making strategic, coordinated investments in the Region’s Activity Centers in order to support Region Forward. Members include local, state and federal government officials, business and nonprofit leaders, and advocates that share a commitment to implement Region Forward’s vision.  Learn more about what the Region Forward Coalition is working on.

The Coalition meets quarterly at COG. Meeting dates and tentative themes for 2015 are listed below:

Friday, April 24th, 11am, 1:30pm, COG Board Room
Business climate, changing industry dynamics, and regional competitiveness
Meeting Documents: Agenda, CRA Presentation, UMD Presentation, Goals & Targets, Baseline Report Summary

Friday, July 10th, 11am, 1:30pm
Infrastructure and connecting Activity Centers

Friday, October 23rd, 11am, 1:30pm
Housing affordability and workforce development

More information on past and future Coalition meetings can be found on the COG website.

Region Forward Coalition Membership



District of Columbia (Council)

David Grosso, Vice Chair
District of Columbia (Executive) Andrew Trueblood



Walter Ficklin
Charles County Peter Alvotto

College Park

Fazlul Kabir

Frederick County

M.C. Keegan-Ayer


Michael Sesma


Emmett Jordan, Chair

Montgomery County (Council)

Marc Elrich

Montgomery County (Executive)

Greg Ossont

Prince George’s County (Council)

Dannielle Glaros

Prince George’s County (Executive)

Bradley Frome


Tom Moore

Takoma Park

Tim Male



Allison Silberberg

Arlington County

Mary Hynes, John Vihstadt

City of Fairfax

Jeffrey Greenfield

Fairfax County

Sharon Bulova, John Cook, Michael Frey

Falls Church

Dan Sze

Loudoun County

Kenneth Reid, Vice Chair


Sheryl Bass

Manassas Park

Suhas Naddoni

Prince William County

Frank Principi, Jeanine Lawson

National Capital Planning Commission

Marcel Acosta

General Services Agency

Mina Wright, Dawud Abdur-Rahman


Planning Directors Technical Advisory Committee

Robert Brosnan, Arlington County
David Levy, Rockville

Housing Directors Advisory Committee

Jesse Buggs, Bowie

Transportation Planning Board Technical Committee

Lyn Erickson, MDOT
Health Officers Stephen Haering, City of Alexandria





Shyam Kannan

2030 Group

Robert “Bob” Buchanan

ULI Washington

Lisa Rother

ULI Washington/Washington Sustainable Growth

Robert Harris

Squire Sanders

Sam Black

Capital One

Leila Finucane
Mobility Lab Howard Jennings

Institute for Public Health Innovation

Michael E. Rhein

Enterprise Community Partners

Manuel T. Ochoa

Enterprise Community Partners

David Bowers

Virginia Housing Development Authority

Michael J. Scheurer

National Center for Smart Growth

Gerrit J Knaap

Washington Regional Association of Grantmakers

Tamara Copeland, Gretchen Greiner-Lott
Northern Virginia Health Foundation Patricia Mathews

Coalition for Smarter Growth

Stewart Schwartz
Center for Housing Policy Lisa Sturtevant
Brookings Greater Washington Research Martha Ross

The Urban Institute

Peter Tatian

Frederick County Workforce Development Board

Alan Imhoff

Northern Virginia Transportation Alliance

Bob Chase

APA Regional Planning Division Member

Lee Schoenecker

HUD Field Office

Marvin W. Turner

Coalition for the Homeless

Michael L. Ferrell

Northern Virginia Affordable Housing Alliance

Michelle Krocker

M-NCPPC Montgomery County

Val Lazdins

M-NCPPC Prince George’s County

Elizabeth Hewlett